Do you move from one injury to the next? 🤔

Just turned 40 and I’m in my second year of cycling.

Picked up my second knee injury in 3 months a few days ago. Totally unrelated to the previous injury and I’m 90% sure it’s an over-use type issue. I was at the end of the final hard week of my first ever medium volume plan (ssb1) when the pain came on and knocked me on my ass. On the bright side this is now supposed to be my recovery week anyway so I won’t feel like I’ve lost much fitness staying off the bike completely to rest my knee.

Here’s a brief history of my more serious sports injuries that I can remember:

Started playing basketball competetivly from age 14. Around the age of 17 my first knee problems started and I would play through the pain for a further 10 or so years before I had to move on.

Went from Balling to Lifting for the next decade and proceeded to procure a whole bundle of niggling injuries pushing myself too far. Most notable of which a myriad of back and shoulder injuries but I stuck to my m.o. and trained through it most of the time.

My worst injury was a herniated disc in my lower back. It took me 4 years to get over, during which of course I kept weight training like the idiotic, addicted masochist I clearly am. :cry:

In the summer of 2018 I was finally beaten after a lifetime’s worth of fighting through (and making things worse) and I had to, for the first time ever, cease and desist all weight lifting activities. No easing off - just 100% couch potato. A month later I was hit by my one and only bout of clinical depression, needing medication to get through it before I took up cycling and the rest is history! :blush: