Come to my pity party

Literally just posting because I feel sorry for myself. I had a massive drop in fitness in October (-60 w) for reasons I don’t fully understand. I’ve been training very consistently since then, decided not to stress and to just keep at it, and yes the watts have moved upwards. Now I just checked what I was doing this time last year and I’m still 20 watts below what I did last year after just 6 weeks of using Trainerroad. That makes me very sad. :cry: :cry: I have honestly no idea why I made apparently effortless gains last year as a complete newbie, but not now. And yes, I’m measuring power using the same equipment. How depressing.

5 Likes

it’s a bummer but have you taken time off? Could be due to too much (or not enough) time off. Watts come and go, but keep at it and you will be back where you are, provided you take time to work, recover, and repeat.

5 Likes

What plans are you following now and what were you doing then? Have you added non-biking training stress such as lifting, swimming, running, etc? Has life stress increased?

For me, while I was able to complete (struggle) through MV build, I wasn’t getting enough rest and recovery. I’ve switched to the POL Base plan and found that doing two hard workouts (threshold or above) per week and one long endurance ride gives me the right amount of training stress that I can still recover from. The MV build plans have three hard workouts and one sweet spot. So, for me, doing fewer hard workouts each week led to increased fitness.

2 Likes

I took October off after several months of rowing races and a 650 km Audax but that break apparently killed my watts. Since then just the usual rest week every fourth week.