Best way to check progress?

So I’ve been doing trainerroad since November of 2019. I’m feeling good and feel like I’m getting fitter and faster most of the time, but then there are times where I feel like all of my inside work does not translate to faster/stronger outside rides. My ftp has come up. But when I break my year into seasons, just breaking the year down to quarters, it looks like the season I’m in now (Third quarter), I’m getting weaker, not stronger. If I look at intervals icu, I was making pretty good progress until recently, now my fitness is dropping. But nothing has changed, I’m still doing all my workouts and following plan building. I’m supposed to be “peaking” now but I’m not so sure that’s happening according to intervals icu, as it show my fitness is dropping.

So how are y’all comparing fitness to see if you’re making gains or not? I know the guys on the podcast said to break things down into seasons, but not sure of the best way.

I’m also not sure how accurate the chart is on intervals.icu.

Any help is greatly appreciated

Are you in the speciality phase now? It is normal for your fitness to stop increasing in this phase, because, it’s meant to 'sharpen’your existing fitness for racing.

The ‘fitness’ on intervals.icu (or Trainingpeaks) is just a measure of your training load (in TSS), where the most recent weeks are more important than what you did a few weeks ago. So any drop in training volume or in TSS per session will make your fitness graph drop.

Typically, when it comes to racing, you want this to happen just after your fitness peak - a fitness peak always also has a high fatigue peak, and you want the fatigue to go away before racing.