Belgian Waffle Ride then the Death Ride. How to train, thoughts from those wiser than I please

Well I’m a newbie but the guys at TR have me hooked. Figured I’d ask the masses as I’m currently like a puppy with ADD and need some advice. I am planning on doing the Belgian Wafer Ride (half distance of the Waffle) on May 5, then the Death Ride in mid July. My training schedule works to finish a complete training regimen (Base, Build, Specialty) just in time for May 5, and then another 8 week block between the two events. Question is what Build and Specialty plans to go for? Appreciate all thoughts on training and bike choice (fiancee will kill me but planning on getting cyclocross bike) - remember I’m a new at this, be gentle.

What are your goals for each race? Just to finish?

As this is my first year, yes goal is to finish as I have no prior metrics to compare to. I’m treating my performance in these early events as diagnostics to see where my fitness and riding is at and will hopefully be able to set more specific goals after that.

Sustained power build and Century.

Wafer ride will be a fun challenge. Death ride will be hard if you are doing the five pass route.

Good luck!

1 Like

Thanks Steve! Yeah its gonna be a beast. ANNNNDDD we’re looking at wedding dates sometime in June - trying to finnagle a convenient honeymoon to Tahoe for the race. We’ll see how that flies hahahaha.

2 Likes

@mzapf28 totally epic plan! Not sure how many pearls of wisdom I can share but here goes… In my mid 50s I started road cycling in Dec 2015 and completed the 7 month zero-to-hero DeathRide 2016. I’m a bigger guy at 200+lbs and was at maybe 2.8 W/kg by the big event. Here’s the deal:

• absolutely critical that you do some longer rides months in advance and nail your nutrition and hydration needs/strategy. Eat and drink at every stop. You can see my bigger rides leading up to DR here: Ride with GPS | Bike Route Planner and Cycling Navigation App