Anyone Work a Side Gig to Fund Your Cycling "Habit?"

If so, what do you do? I haven’t found a way to get paid to cycle (no one wants to sponsor an 3 w/kg old dude that only rides inside :man_shrugging:) so looking to see what others do. Replies “in jest” welcomed!

3 Likes

Only Fans.

:scream: :scream:

15 Likes

“Fund” is not really the case, but I work as a Bike Fitter for our local bike shop. The wage is minimal in the grand scheme, but access to industry discounts is GOLD! :stuck_out_tongue:

ETA Times:

• Reg Job = M-F 8-5 (40 hour/week)
  • Bike Fits = Sat’s by appt, 3+ hour demand for a single 2 hours fit, two Sat’s per month on avg.
14 Likes

At one point in time I made extra money by pedaling around a rickshaw on busy bar nights. Really helped me on steep climbs :rofl:

Now I don’t even have a main job (covid layoffs). Anyone looking for a remote 1099 tech?! lol

5 Likes

Army, 36 years and counting

9 Likes

Thank you for your service! :smiley:

5 Likes

If I worked a 2nd job then there would be no time for cycling!

Veloguides is a thing and sounds pretty cool

3 Likes

Starting my 3rd simultaneous job in a moment. Also thanks to finishing PhD my salary increase at university would be just enough to pay for TR and zwift subscription. Cycling is an expensive hobby;)

7 Likes

I ride my bike 20hours a week. Working more than 40 hours would cut into that, so I don’t.

I might be poor, but I get to enjoy my time off.

12 Likes

My son and I own a small power washing company for cleaning parking garages in large buildings. We work 2 days a month in addition to our full time jobs. It’s been our “cycling money” for years now and worked out well!!

10 Likes