A Much Needed (and real) Off-Season: How Long?

Hey all,
I recently began my off-season and I’m wondering how long it should be. I know the easy answer is either two weeks or until you feel ready. I listened to a few of the podcasts that cover it, most recently episode 234. However, I feel my situation is a bit unique.
I’ve been riding and racing for more than a decade and have a DEEP endurance foundation. My problem is that I do too much. Last year I took 3.5 weeks off, but hiked and ran almost every day (sometimes doing three 13 mile/6500 feet of elevation hikes per week). I have been doing this for the past five years. While it’s amazing (Utah hiking is divine), my off-seasons have been anything but off. Add in a very high volume year each year (with several 900-1100 TSS weeks) and I’m utterly cooked.
How long is enough time off in a situation like this? I’m wondering specifically from a physiological perspective, as I might feel good, but still require some sort of extra time? Is there something more that needs to happen than can happen in the usual two weeks, or is that still a good recommendation? I want to mention I don’t feel like I’ve reached that point where I’m so overtrained that it will take months to come back (genuine super-overtraining), but I’m more tired than just a normal season’s worth.
Thanks for all the wonderful info and help. Cheers.
–Bonn

I fail here as well. Frank Overton at FasCat in Boulder recommends 2 weeks for most joe’s and 3-4 weeks for pro athletes.

I feel the two week rule is something that has come down from the Pro world and has been applied to everyone else, so a lot of coaches / web articles have copied that and are now telling everyone that you must take that amount of time off.

Well, two weeks have worked well in the past, but I feel like that’s the minimum I should do this year given my fatigue levels. How long beyond that…not sure.