40K TT Plan for Sustained Alpine Climbs (stage race)

I am doing Haute Route Alps in late August and have enough time to do 2 x speciality plans.

I was fortunate enough to get @chad 's input on my idea of doing:

Climbing Road Race

and then

Century

HOWEVER: listening to @Jonathan talk on AACC ep. 013 he said doing a 40k TT plan for longer climbs would be a good idea. (i’ve heard the guys mention this several times actually)

My idea is to simply ride as best i can NOT to race as i am a relative newbie. So i was thinking developing my sustained power at close to threshold using 40k TT might be a good idea?

Either way my last phase will be the Century Plan but i now feel the 40k tt plan might be a better primer than climbing road race.

Would love any input as i have never done either type of plan or event.

basic info: FTP 270 … 4.5 w/kg … newbie … addicted to my riding indoors.

thank you in advance!

Alex

I assume you’re already taking the Sustained Build route?

If so, you can think of the 40k TT plan as almost a “second build” in that it will refine your sustained power near threshold.

However, it sounds like your approach to the ride is to just ride as best as you can, which to me means that you probably won’t be pushing near threshold too often, and hopefully staying at a lower %FTP throughout the ride to finish well. That’s where the Century plan will come in, refining your abilities to ride at a steady pace for a long time.

The Climbing RR specialty plan involves a lot of “attacking” type efforts, ones you probably won’t run into during Haute Route too often, according to the way you plan to ride it. Because of this, I’d also recommend trying the 40k TT plan before embarking on the Century phase.

1 Like

HI @larry - thank you so much for your reply!

Yes i am about 1/2 way through Sustained Build atm …

I really like idea of thinking of 40k tt plan as sustained power build prt 2.