Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

22 hours ago

Amazing!!!

The information provided in these podcasts is amazing! Very well researched and explained well. I specifically like how even when they do not agree with a certain type of training, or style of dieting, they still uphold the merit of that fad, or what have you. Intermittent fasting for example - Coach Chad talks about how intermittent fasting is extremely effective in losing weight; referencing Jason Fong multiple times, but it is not effective for endurance athletes like us cyclists. It gives us looking for answers a unique understanding of what is essential for cyclists to maintain performance and increase FTP, W/kg, or whatever it is we seek, rather than focus on what can help you attain the best results with a certain factor of racing, i.e. weight. The other thing I enjoy is the race results, as well as the guest starring of THOR - Pete. It's nice to have real world contribution from a Pro Conti rider! 5+ stars for these guys! Amazing content and always fun to see them at my local races.

Griffin N. / United States

1 week ago

Mills 1 year ago versus Mills today

December 2017 I was goofing off with TR just doing a mixture of workouts. Canceled in February when the weather improved. I also didn’t understand what structured training really meant. Fast forward to today, nearly finished with SSB MV2 (now understanding structure). I completed Mills and felt great, even increased it 5% for the last set! I then saw in January 2018 I attempted Mills and failed mid-way through the second set at an FTP 30 watts lower than it was today. Wow. Thank you TrainerRoad for making me awesome. I definitely will not be canceling this February :heart:

Randi A. / United States

1 week ago

I hit my goals with TR!!

I started using TrainerRoad after a recommendation from a friend. I had bought a Wahoo Kickr and wanted some structured training. I had goals to get to GBR age-group triathlon qualification (which I’ve done, thanks TR!). The structured training programs, gradual build and challenging yet engaging plans make it so easy to commit to and actually complete. Compliment this with the essential listening podcast and my training didn’t just become structured but, educated. I’ve since bought books based on recommendations, tried a number of training ideas that actually work for me and resolved some minor niggles through prevention. I don’t know how to recommend TR more without it sounding cheesy! I’m sure there are some excellent comparable products but, for me TR simply works and I love the data it gives me! Great work TR team!

Ed / United Kingdom

1 week ago

I hit my goals with TR!!

I started using TrainerRoad after a recommendation from a friend. I had bought a Wahoo Kickr and wanted some structured training. I had goals to get to GBR age-group triathlon qualification (which I’ve done, thanks TR!). The structured training programs, gradual build and challenging yet engaging plans make it so easy to commit to and actually complete. Compliment this with the essential listening podcast and my training didn’t just become structured but, educated. I’ve since bought books based on recommendations, tried a number of training ideas that actually work for me and resolved some minor niggles through prevention. I don’t know how to recommend TR more without it sounding cheesy! I’m sure there are some excellent comparable products but, for me TR simply works and I love the data it gives me! Great work TR team!

Ed / United Kingdom

2 weeks ago

From 2.5w/kg to 4.35w/kg

TR hurts in the pain cave but it makes you faster - for sure. You'll beat guys with 5000km or more on the road because - not all TSS are created equal. On peak times, I ended up on roughly 4.7w/kg - on the same trainer with the same bike settings. This is fun on the roller and even much more outside!

Matthias / Switzerland

2 weeks ago

LOVE

A friend recommended the podcast with Amber Pierce so I started there and now I'm hooked. Love listening to you all talk about my favorite sport. :)

Stephanie

2 weeks ago

perché sito solo in inglese?

finché il sito di trainerroad sarà solo in inglese non ci penso proprio ad abbonarmi, anche se sono certo che trainerroad è molto valido

Nikolaj / Italy

2 weeks ago

Amazing

So first of all I love the podcast and it gives a lot of helpful tips. I love the programs I can do, because there are only so many preset up workouts on Zwift and I love the variety. Overall Great!

Katie S. / United States

2 weeks ago

So much good stuff!

I'm just getting back into serious cycling in the last 6 months and started using the "video game" app to help make indoor riding more enjoyable. I quickly burned through their intermediate/advanced plans and after getting hooked on the Ask A Cycling Coach podcast I signed up for TrainerRoad to take it to the next level. I was able to easily build a tailored plan for my goals this year and the calendar has been amazing! I love the in depth descriptions provided by Coach Chad for both the plans and the workouts, you really know what you're getting into and what you'll get out of it. Amazing product, great resources with things like the forum and I'm expecting big things coming into this years road race season. Thank you!

Jason B. / United States

3 weeks ago

Best Cycling Podcast by FAR!

Outstanding! Provides a wide range of information related to all aspects of cycling, health, nutrition, and general fitness ... very beneficial for ANY serious cyclist or triathlete!

Kevin / United States

3 weeks ago

The very BEST method I've used to improve!

Other then my smart trainer, this is the very best thing I've found to get faster, stronger and achieve better results! The plans are awesome and even if you have a coach, workouts are very easy to create/import. Add in the exceptional podcasts, the amazing customer support should you need it, and their speed os response, it's a no brainer! I've used them since their beginning, and they have taken me so far! Join and experience what you can achieve with their experience to guide you. I love it and will continue to subscribe year after year......

Gary G. / United States

3 weeks ago

Don't waste your time... use TrainerRoad instead!

This is the biggest thing for me. I don't have a lot of time between family (2 small kids) and work. I HAVe to make the best use of my time, and indoor training is where it's at! When you compare indoor training software, nothing comes close to Tr's specificity and progression across plans. Add in the new calendar and analytics and it's just pure gold!

Nate / United States

3 weeks ago

I wish 4.5 stars was an option...

Giving only 4 stars feels a bit harsh but for me TrainerRoad isn't perfect to warrant 5 stars. I was drawn to TrainerRoad back in 2014 and have been a user on and off ever since with only the past couple of years using seriously. Initially it was the ability to follow other workouts from Graeme Street (Cyclo-Core) and then Sufferfest workouts (before they had their own platform and they were removed) that pulled me in. As I got more serious about training and wanting to target specific events that's when I found the benefit of TrainerRoads own plans. They cover every scenario and volume level I will ever need although I would like to see them introduce more non trainer workouts that are of benefit to cyclists as supplemental to their current plans. The podcast has been an invaluable source of knowledge over the past few years and I think I've pretty much listened to every episode now. Recently the introduction of the calendar and ride analysis features has really been a huge improvement and I know longer have any need to pay for Strava because of this. The forum has also been a welcome addition and is way better than using Facebook for posing questions to fellow subscribers. So why not 5 stars? Well the plans are 5 star and the only feature I can find fault with (and this may not even be TrainerRoads fault) is the Powermatch feature when using a power meter alongside an erg mode trainer. I know I'm not the only one with frustrations on this as there is plenty of comment on this in the forum and a feel it's an area that needs improvement. I'm cautious of being over critical given TrainerRoad don't make powermeters or trainers so it's always a matter of integrating with 3rd parties which can be difficult. That being said I am using pretty popular and mainstream products so not a home built products I'm expecting TrainerRoad to integrate faultlessly with. The other item that pulls down the rating is previously mentioned regarding the addition of non trainer workouts as an additional option. Looking forward to what new features are coming in 2019.

Phil C. / United Kingdom

1 month ago

TrainerRoad makes you faster, period

TrainerRoad took me from an overweight underperforming cyclist and turned me into a machine! I'm down 50 pounds and up almost 100w on my FTP.

Steven M. / United States

1 month ago

Exceeded my Expectations

I am predominantly an outdoor rider. So, before I decided to purchase TrainerRoad I posed the question in the forum, "Is TrainerRoad worth it for a predominantly outdoor rider?" Within 2 hours I had over 20 comments providing insightful and helpful advice from the TrainerRoad community. I was immediately sold. I have just completed 9 weeks of training and find the workout plans provide a healthy amount of training stress and rest. The calendar and the performance analytics are user friendly and intuitive. One of the best things is the TrainerRoad Podcast: Amazing balance of training science and banter-Absolutely the best!

Devin D.

1 month ago

Everything you need to get fast

The massive workout library and the well thought out plans make TrainerRoad a great fit for 99% of athletes out there. Stick to the plan, listen to the podcasts, look after yourself outside of training and racing and you WILL get faster with TR. It's that simple.

Justin H. / Australia

1 month ago

Best for all cyclists needing a "push"

Been a paying subscriber since day one (2011 ?) and have tried all the other options but nothing keeps me motivated as the workouts in TR.

Bill D. / United States

1 month ago

Trainerroad really does make you faster

Trainerroad doesnt need gimmiks to make you faster it just works, with a great team behind it, support is always fast and freindly, the podcast is always informative, helpful and with a sprinkle of humour.

Neil P. / United Kingdom

1 month ago

GREAT value for money !!!!

I started using trainerroad 3 months ago and improved my FTP 15% . Before i was riding outside and doing a lot of "junk" miles now with trainerroad i can achieve BETTER results in a shorter time . Consistently measuring your progress is a great motivator and keeps you focused. It's not only a great software tool but they also have great resources like their forum where everybody is happy to help !

Thomas D. / Belgium

1 month ago

Structured training made easy

I say easy, you have to be prepared to commit to the plans and turn up for the session but other than that, it's training made easy. The sessions are challenging, varied and you can focus on specialties as you progress. This is my second year as a TR user and I can honestly say that I'm enjoying it. The more I use TR the more I learn about myself as an athlete and this encourages me to focus. Would I recommend TR to someone looking for structured training? Without hesitation. Has it made me faster? I'll let this seasons results be the judge of that!

Nick C. / United Kingdom