XC Shoe causing toe pain, any recommendations?

So I’ve been using the Shimano XC7 for a couple years and I’ve noticed that on rides over about 40 miles my left toes start to hurt insanely bad. So much that I almost need to take the shoe off or at least stop pedaling for a bit. I normally wear a 45 (10.5), and in street shoes I wear a 10.5. I’m thinking about sizing up to a 46. Any thoughts on this or recommendations for a good shoe. I prefer shimano due to their width and generally roomier toe box, but I’m not opposed to other brands.

1 Like

I don’t have anything constructive other than my XC9s gave me a horribly swollen toe after a long ride too. I think that the fit on these are on the loose side and I remain skeptical of any boa show now. I just went back to my old school Shimanos when they did the custom molding via an oven and vacuum. When these die I’ll finally have to move on from Shimano shoes. Historically they’ve been my favorite but those high end SPhyres are not for me. I have to take some ownership in riding a show that I knew was too big but didn’t want to deal with returning them. Lesson learned and I’ll now be much more picky on shoes again.

I wish there was a more extensive review system for XC shoes. There’s quite a wide range of really nice XC shoes available in Europe that just don’t make it down here.

On BikeInn there’s some nice looking Spiuk and NorthWave XC shoes for example (amongst heaps of others). It’d be so useful to reliably know how they compare in fit.

I really like the Specialized S-Works Recon shoes. I have a wide forefoot and many xc shoes give me hotspots after long rides. The Recon’s have a nice wide toe box and I’ve had no issues on 7hr rides. I wear 10.5 and wear a 45 in the Recon. Not cheap, but frustration of hotspots just got too painful for me.

3 Likes