Wrist Support on Long Rides

Hi all,

I’m a 60 year old noob when it comes to cycling. I’m planning on doing Seattle to Portland this year, which is 200 miles over two days, and I am building up fitness and endurance to do so.

All is going well (thanks to TR over the winter in particular) but I’m noticing one problem now that I’m doing >65 miles in a day. Once the ride is over, the right hand seems to lose its grip for a few days. For example, my wife cooked me a steak after yesterday’s 85 miler, and I found it hard to grip the knife and cut the steak. I had trouble squeezing the handle of the knife tightly enough to get a solid grip.

This passes after a few days but I’d like to eliminate it. My bike fit is good, and I’m comfy on the bike for the whole ride (well, that’s a lie, the set gets rock hard at 50 miles but it passes). This is definitely something I only get on long rides. I can imagine needing to raise the bar a bit, or wearing wrist supports of some kind.

I’d like some advice from anyone who’s had a similar problem please.

I hate to say it but…bike fit.

2 Likes

:grimacing: I guess you might be right…but who wants to sit for a ten-hour bike fit? I got some gloves with wrist supprt so I’ll try that and then add some height to the handlebars if that doesn’t do it.

Something else you might want to look at is how hard you’re gripping your hoods. As you get more fatigued you might be subconsciously gripping harder than you need. Try concentrating on relaxing your hands and just resting them on your next ride, no need to have a tight grip.

Also, why is it a 10 hour bike fit???

3 Likes

The ultimate support for your wrists when on the bike for long periods is suppose to be your core. Are you keeping up with a core strengthening regimen?

A potential quick fix is to rotate your hoods towards you a few degrees. This serves to raise the point of contact and counter any unnatural overextension of your wrist through the thumb.