Why is over/under so painful!

was doing this earlier and it’s painful. I can’t finish. and I dont understand, the 1st 20 mins is like only z2. then following by 6 mins over / under. it looks easy but it is not. actually i find all over/under workouts are not easy. and they said if you can finish over/under, it means your ftp is set too low

so…any tips? what cadence do you recommend? i try 80 rpm , 95 rpm… but it still hard…thanks.

How did you test FTP? What are other workouts like?

2 Likes

You’ll need to provide more info about your training. Things like the questions above and where you are in your training plan.

1 Like

I’m new to structured workouts and it’s the first year that I do indoor workouts on a training plan. The following is my input as a beginner.

At low cadence, you will push harder on the pedals.

At higher cadence, you will put less force on the pedals but it’s likely to increase HR. Improved fitness will lower HR.

If FTP is set right, HR won’t climb too high during over/under at high cadence.

What I do is focus on high cadence at first. That puts less strain on the joints and give them time to adapt. After a few weeks of training, I started doing most intervals at higher cadence and a few at lower cadence.

I did Mono on my first week on TR.
About 7 weeks later, I did Tioga.

Both were done at same FTP. The intervals of Tioga are longer but my HR was lower. Fitness improved. It takes time.

I’d say Tioga was harder mentally than Mono because of the longer intervals but at the same time, it felt easier physically because I was farther from my max HR.

1 Like

They would be always hard but to improve lactate clearance you have to put some longer Z2 into legs. It’s all connected. When you do a lot of z2 your aerobic endurance improves, you gain some mitochondria and vascularity. Then your ability to clear lactate will be better and o/u will also become easier to your legs. They sill will be hard workout but way easier than in the beginning.