Why is my Workout RPE is lower than Racing efforts

Hello all.
I have been training with TR now for around 6 months and have seen my FTP go from 275 watts to currently 319. I am 32 and have gone from 322lbs down to the current 210lbs over the last year. I have been cycling for about 3 years now, mainly MTb, but just recently started taking it seriously. I also started doing Drop Rides this year with the local group on the road and will start racing Crits this next season if they happen. I just had my first MTB race this last weekend and was able to take 5th place overall with my teammate on a relay-style race.

I am in my Second week of Build with a modified low volume plan, ā€œTexas fall weatherā€ I tend to shift things around as needed, 70 and sunny makes it hard to sit inside. I have noticed an increase in the intensity of the V02 max efforts lately, But why is it when I do the V02 efforts on the trainer my HR stays around 150-155 and my RPE is high, but I really feel it in my legs more than I do my breathing. When I race, or do the drop ride, my HR stays around 160 the entire time, and often efforts where your seeing cross-eyed HR is 180+ and tung is hanging out, but still manage to get back on the paceline, legs are burning but usually not as bad as they do when Iā€™m on the indoor trainer. Is this due to the constant resistance while pedaling on the trainer vs outdoor where the efforts are high surges followed by coasting or lighter pedaling repeated? Or am I just not pushing hard enough during my Ramp test and Iā€™m working at a lower FTP? I have seen rides over an hour with my Avg power higher than my FTP. I use a Tacx Neo Bike for indoor training and I use a Stages single-sided power meter, so I just chalked this minor delta up to the difference in power meters. But after noticing the difference in how I feel I canā€™t help but wonder.