What's my Offset?

Just bought a new Cyclops H2, and now I KNOW that my stages power meter has been cheating me on my power! Is there anyway TrainerRoad can tell me what my avg offset was for a workout? If this is already available somewhere, please someone point me in the right direction.

Offset is not stored continuously. Itā€™s a one time value, like tare on a scale.

2 Likes

Are you saying the H2 is more accurate than you meter? The number doesnā€™t mean anything but to the person using it. If your meter lets just say is 10% off it really donā€™t matter if you use power match and you always use the meter. If you use trainer power then go outside what power are you going to use?

I am a little leery of trainer power as from what I can gather none of them have strain gauges. They use some sort of algorithm from the spin down.

1 Like

All powermeters should be taken with a grain of salt unless you can accurately static test the torque.

Iā€™ve been doing this with my powertaps for years ā€“ and sent a couple of them back to Saris for reading too high (Iā€™ve seen some as much as 5% low, and some as much as 5% high, but they all tested within the +/- 2% at Saris ā€“ psstā€¦that published accuracy figure has a lot of wiggle room, unless youā€™re dealing with SRM).

For improvement ā€“ is your performance going up?

For weight management ā€“ compare your PM to one that is known accurate (find a recently calibrated SRM, for instance) and see how far the kj are off. Or, if you perform a proper static torque test, see what the % error may be.

What makes you think that the stages is cheating you as opposed to the H2 being overly generous? Do you have a third reference point youā€™re comparing against or are you just taking the optimistic view of things?

As others have mentioned - which is correct is less important than which you can ride with more often. In this case you should be using the stages since you canā€™t really do too many outside rides with the H2 :wink: