Weight gain and carbs

I’m a coached UK rider, coming to the end of my Season in August reverse periodised and racing XC Marathon. In the past before I was coached I used TR, focused in an 1800 cals per day gross and reduced myself to 161 lbs. I was racing my best XC races at the time, training about 5hrs per week.

I’ve moved to XC Marathon and the extra carbs and 2400 cals gross my coach has suggested to supported my training has pushed me to 175 lbs. Now, my FTP hasn’t changed although we’ve focused on muscular endurance and Vo2 max early as I’m a poor climber. My performance seems to have stagnated though to be fair, there have been mitigating circumstances at every race - nothing is the same! I’m training 5-10 hours per week and tapering properly.

So, my question is should I drop the carbs and therefore the weight to help me climb faster/better?

I’m no professional coach, but I’d say if you gained 14 pounds of fat, you calorie intake is probably too high…

Was this all gained this year, as soon as you upped your daily calories by 600?

What is the composition of the body type changes? Are you putting on muscle or fat? Is it muscle in your legs or your upper body?

Broadly speaking an increase of 14 pounds with no change in FTP is going to hurt your ability to go uphill. If you flip the scenario most people would immediately drop 14 pounds if they were certain it wouldn’t lower their FTP. I think this would be referred to as a significant gain

Talk to your coach about why he wants you racing at this weight, see how the body changes have impacted you. Maybe you’re on a plan that’ll see significant FTP gains during the coming off-season, or maybe not. Hard to say without more info

An a bit of last year, about 9 months in total, yes. BUT he’s concerned less carbs = less health and less support for muscular change.