Weekly Load Determination

Hello! I just finished my first 5 weeks with TR Base. I did NOT do the Ramp test beforehand, and just used the FTP that my Garmin had determined from my riding outdoors. Sweet Spot work was, and continues to be TOUGH but I love the adaptations. I have never failed/quit a session, though SS work does challenge me to the mental point of wanting to quit. I am a NOOB at structured indoor training. I’ve only ridden outside for fun here in Chiang Mai Thailand. I can hold 90-100rpm cadence for most of the first three workouts of the week, but the weekend 90 min SS workouts leave me struggling to keep above 80 after the first interval. The first interval I can push through. The remaining intervals, I can maintain the power requirement, just at a lower cadence closer to 65-75rpm. So, my question is, as a 57 year old noob to indoor training, should I continue onto Base 2 after next weeks ramp test, or repeat Base 1 in order to get my cadence up? And second, should I decrease my weekly load due to my age? For some context; I was paralyzed from the waist down when I was 25. I have since had two back surgeries 19 years ago. I no longer have back issues, and am at a high level of muscular strength. You can see some examples on my IG @cruxrox

The plans are designed to be done consecutively (1, then 2) so probably best to stick to that.

I would do the ramp test if I were you as there can be discrepancies between indoor/outdoor FTP. It’s also not too taxing and is over in 25 minutes. Worth it for more accurate training zones I think.

1 Like

Hi there! Welcome to TR :slightly_smiling_face: