Under fueling workouts and first century ride

I’ve fallen into the trap of teetering between training for performance and training for body composition. I’ve been training for a full Ironman and following the medium volume plan from the plan builder tool. My training varies anywhere from 10 hours to 17 hours a week. I feel that I am considerably under fueling my workouts but I justify it by maintaining my body composition that I desire. I intermittent fast (I know I should probably stop this but I have a streak of over 100 days on the Zero app haha) so my first workout in the morning is always fasted, whether it be a 60 or 90 min V02 max or sweet spot bike, or a 40-60 min tempo or V02 max run. On the weekends I’ve been training fasted for the most part, 2 hour long runs fasted, endurance swims fasted, etc. I’ve donr 3.5 hour endurance trainer rides without any fuel, just electrolytes. I never have not been able to complete a workut and I’ve been training this way for 4-5 months.

I did my first century ride about a week ago. I ate 1/2 cup of oatmeal and a banana before and all I had for fuel during the ride was a banana at mile 50. I was taking nuun electrolyte tabs in my bottles and had a few gatorade zeros. Overall I felt decent and averaged 153 watts with a NP of 160 watts. I weigh 145lbs/ 66 kg’s so 2.67w/kg for a century ride, no idea if this is decent or not. If I ever felt like I was fading, once I got some electrolytes in, I was good to go.

If I’m being brutally honest with myself, I know I am under fueling. I need to man up and start eating more but I justify it because I have been able to hit my power targets every single workout.

For those of you who have under fueled before and started fueling properly, what differences did you notice? Performance? Recovery? Mood? What changes did you make to your diet/fueling? Any tips to get past the body composition image issue and eat to fuel workouts/eat for performance?

1 Like