Trying to understand Sweet Spot

Hi all,
I am new to any form of structured training and I have been reading about sweet spot training programs.
There is one thing that puzzles me.
SS is defined as 84-97% of FTP, and FTP is defined as the power one can sustain during a 1hr time trial.
Based on these definitions, shouldn’t it be relatively “easy” to do more than 1h of continuous SS riding? Then why do suggested workouts start with 5-10 mins of SS intervals?
If 5-10 minutes of SS is already hard enough, shouldn’t it be because the FTP is set too high?

Thanks to anyone who can help me understand this.

Davide

1 Like

A good way to understand is by experience. Do Cumberland+2 this afternoon and report how it went, including whether you fancy another go at it tomorrow.

3 Likes

Thanks,
I will do that. But from a theoretical perspective I still do not understand the point of doing SS intervals of 5 or even 30 minutes, if the exertion rate is lower than what you can sustain for 1h.
Wouldn’t it make more sense to do SS for > 1h, and FTP intervals of like 20mins?

Uh oh…here we go

Popcorn GIFs on GIPHY - Be Animated

25 Likes

doing max effort of 1hour is extremely hard. I would say most people wont reach their FTP for 1h duration, if it is not tested in 1h interval. Even then it might be only reached with perfect situation of fully rested and tapered.

I would be happy to reach it for 30 minutes. Still i think it is ok way to set the training targets for different zones. E.g. for me above threshold (Z4 in 7 zones model) tend to be relative easier vs Z4 workouts described by TR. So those zones % from FTP are a bit different to different people. It might make more sense to do the zone setting from Vo2max.

Anyways Sweetspot are hard workouts that requires good fueling, recovery etc to be able to execute day after day, week after week. 5min interval with short rest is good way to start doing them. 30 min continous SS is very challenging indoors without microrests.

2 Likes