Travel sized dumb trainer

Folks,

I’m a product manager and have to travel to Asia 3-6 times a year for a week or so at a time. I’ve already built myself a bike with couplers but one of the factories I work with is an an area I’d prefer not to ride in. So I’m looking for the smallest, lightest trainer available – at least that way I can breathe some air that’s been filtered by the air conditioner.

You would think that I’d just hit up the fitness center in the hotel but there isn’t one there - 12 karaoke rooms and a massage parlor but no fitness center.

Thanks!
-T-

Feedback Sports Omnium - magnetic rollers, front fork attaches to A frame, folds up small into a holdall for 1 hand lift when not using…

2 Likes

STAC Zero base model folds flat, and if you don’t mind a “kachunk” feeling to your pedal stroke on easy efforts (in my experience: under 120W or so) then you can skip the wheel weights. I would not recommend the power meter or smart control models for a lot of travel.

https://www.staczero.com/

Yes, this, 100%. I’ve traveled to Asia with my Omnium in my bike bag…You want the “over-drive” model if you want resistance.

+1 for the Omnium, I borrowed one from a friend in the Summer and will definitely invest when I have some spare cash.

If it’s a hotel that does a lot of business with your company, you could try lobbying inside the company to get a proper trainer installed. Most companies are quite open to helping with the problems of staff who have to travel for work. It can’t hurt to ask.

1 Like

Have a look at the STAC Zero. Their trainer folds up real small and is light. I have been ridding one for the past 7 weeks. I did a short video of the review here: 7 week STAC Zero halcyon review - YouTube The only noise I hear when ridding is my drive train

It’s too big for cabin baggage. Could the magnets be a problem for checked luggage? I can’t remember if there are restrictions.