Training for 2020 Race Debut

Hey everyone, so after doing just 13 weeks (SSB1 and 2 and half of Build) of TR last winter, my results outside in the spring and this year have been awesome, able to ride hard much longer, and hang on the front pack at our local amateur crit type ride. I’m interested in doing some road racing next year and wondering what program I should stick to, some say just to do SSB1&2 and Build, some say to also do Specialty.

I started road riding in 2016, got a power meter in 2017, and my FTP back then was in the 230s, whereas my last ramp test in spring was 290w and I’m able to hold an NP of a bit over 300w for a bit over an hour. For someone who is not a total newb to faster riding and indoor training, what would you recommend, so I can start my training far enough in advance to be ready to race in the Spring?

I wouldn’t wait till spring. If you have events that interests you yet this year, I’d sign up for those. You have more than enough fitness to keep up. I would think the race experience would be a lot more valuable than training till spring to raise your FTP a bit. You can/should probably do both, but IMO the experience of racing is more important once you’re got a basic level of fitness established.

General training plan advice is pretty plain. Pick an A race, and work back from there to figure out when to start base. And pick the build and specialty plans that best line up with your A race. You should plan to work through all three phases though, such that you finish specialty so it lines up with your A race. I tend to like planning about two weeks of unexpected time. That gives me some room in the schedule in case I get sick/injured/busy/etc.

2 Likes