Training consistency need help (low or mid volume)

Hello!

I’ve been cycling for the past three years, but have failed to really get consistent with my training which has led to to inconsistent results (suprise suprise). Cycling started out as a social activity which friends, but they have since dedicated significantly more time and effort into training than I have. I don’t want to spend an equal amount of time (they send up to 15 hours a week) but do believe that by taking a more structured approach I can end up less dead at the end of our shared hobby rides :wink:

Most of my training so far has been one or two bigger outdoor rides during the weekend, depending on if this alone or in group a single ride can be in the 250 - 300 TSS range with peaks up to 350 TSS (3 to 5 hours of riding). This is in hilly terrain. Often being the only ride I do in the week, does not lead to consistent improvements. My FTP is currently sitting at a fairly low 215.

So turning to structured training I’m debating the following three options:

• Low Volume plan and substitute the highest TSS ride with the outdoor ride. This lands me at about ± 370 TSS a week (120 indoor + 250 outdoor).
  • Low volume + heavy outdoor ride on top. 4 rides total. This would be in the 450 to 470 TSS per week.
  • Mid Volume and substitute up to two workouts per week with an outdoor ride, depending on the intensity of the outdoor ride. Try to stick close the the Mid Volume total TSS of ±400.

Option 1 seems the most manageable, but that leaves me with only two structured workouts a week. Is this enough to get the benefits of structured riding? Option 2 seems a bit much TSS wise at this point. Option 3 seems the most flexible and allow for 5 structured workouts on weeks with no outdoor rides and down to 3 structured rides with 2 rides substituted for an heavier outdoor ride.

Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Thanks!
M.