Training and a standing job

Hey Trainerroadies,

Ever since I started cycling last year, I’ve gotten too into it. I fell in that dark hole and just nearly became consumed by cycling. I love it though.

Now, I want to become a better, faster and fitter cyclist. I want to sign up to a 160km sportive in October. So I gotta train right? cool, no problem. I’ve already started doing my fair share of structured training and longs rides anyways.

Here’s the thing though: I am a cook and work 4 days a week, standing 10-14 hours for the 3 days and usually about 5-8 on the Sunday. No breaks. My days off are monday to wednesday.

So my question to you experienced folks is this: how can I plan my training and recovery effectively around this physically demanding job?

Thanks!

2 Likes

Compression socks! You need them. I used to wait tables and I would ride long and hard not long before my evening shift. Once I figured out compression socks it really helped.

I don’t have any other advice :man_shrugging:. I wasn’t doing any structure just blasting myself on the bike as a young ‘un.

4 Likes

Start slow and don’t rush your training.

While I am in an easier job now, I used to work for a contractor doing HVACR work. Carrying large amounts of tools and equipment up and down roofs of buildings and such all day, often in hot weather, and the hotter the weather the longer the work day. I was more of a runner back then and tended to run immediately after work.

1 Like

I’m a chef also my friend. I feel your pain! Compression socks can definitely help, I also have a good stretch routine I can do while standing.
Almost every time I go to the bathroom I’ll stretch. For example bent over hamstring stretch, hip flexor stretches and some type of back stretch. Who cares if someone sees you, take care of yourself. Also a good stretch In The morning and when you get home feels great to get the blood flowing and work out the kinks of the day.