TrainerRoad vs Personal Coach

I started training with a personal trainer / coach a few months back to close off the season and start working towards next year. I’ve chosen one of the best Dutch coaches there is, several Iron Man wins and top-10 places in Kona. And also a lot of great successes for his coachees in his 15 years of coaching. Off course this sets me back a few bucks more than my Trainerroad subscription.

And even though I love his trainingplans and feedback I’m starting to wonder if it is a return on my investment. Or would it be better to save up the money for other things and follow the TR plans. Which have helped me to finish my first half triathlon successfully last season.

So my question is what is your opinion about this? Does a personal coach add so much more value that it is worth the money, or does TR give a similar value for less?

2 Likes

It depends on your goals and your needs. I think a vast majority of people would do well with just TR plans+the podcast but not all.

Personally I use both TR and a coach and find unique value from each.

2 Likes

If you have a coach they need to be providing personalized advice for them to be providing additional value over TR. If it’s mostly just do 3x20 SS, do 8x3 VO2, etc then TR gives you most/all of that same value. Down to “oh you had to do an evening workout so lets put you on aerobic for the morning and move this around”.

Coach’s are expensive, make them earn their value or dump them until you are chasing seconds.

2 Likes

I worked with a trainee coach for a while. His approach wasn’t really my cup of tea, but I did get a huge benefit from having accountability to someone - it really helped to maintain compliance.

3 Likes

I’ve been largely self-coached, but have used a coach for two seasons, training plans for one or two seasons, TR a little bit, and have even coached some athletes. My answer to your question is: “It Depends”.