Too tired to finish a workout?

I’m in my second week of Sweet Spot Base Low Volume One. Sunday I went out and I rode the local bike path for 3.5 hours and I over did it. I took Monday off work to rest, Tues I didn’t feel any stress or pain maybe a little bit of tired legs but I still couldn’t make it past the first interval of Ericsson so I backpedaled the last half of the interval and even the recovery felt like I was straining. What is my best recourse when this happens? Try a recovery ride at light spinning or just stop the workout have a beer and try again on Thursday? Any other recommendations?Capture

How long have you been riding indoors and/or using TrainerRoad?

I have just started back up after a few months off of riding, some light rides here and there but started riding indoors again last week. I have been using TR for a couple of years.

It happens to everyone. Listen to your body, drop the intensity a bit to finish but do NOT make a habit of it or you’ll end up doing it all the time. Is the pain physical or mental, if the latter, think about something else and press on.

3 Likes

Personally, I’ve had a few of these workouts lately where my power just isn’t where it should be so the workout isn’t productive.

In these cases I just free ride/mess around the rest of the workout and play it by ear. Some light spinning for a few minutes and see what it feels like when I reach an endurance pace. If I’m feeling OK, I might try a few 10 second sprints, or if I’m still just feeling really off I’ll stop the workout.

If I was at the tail end of a training block I might opt more towards the straight up recovery route, but since you’re at the beginning of SSB I think you have some flexibility to keep riding but with some lower stress efforts.

To each their own in this case, but you just have to listen to your body.

2 Likes