Too much of a jump in FTP?

To start off with, my background is marathon running. I have done a little bit of riding here and there over the years, but nothing serious. I got a smart trainer and zwift in the fall. I started out with a FTP of 123 in September. I didn’t do a whole lot of ridding since I had a marathon in October. On January 14th I switched to TR and had a FTP of 128(Zwift) and a few days later, 135 on TR. I think I went soft on the zwift test. I started with the IM Mid volume base plan. I am aiming for IM Lousville with a half IM in June. Today I did my ramp test as I switched to the build phase and had a 146.

So my question is, that seems like a really big jump. Does that sound accurate? A lot of what I read it seems like people only make incremental gains of a few FTP, never +11 in 1.5 months. I don’t want to start my build phase with a FTP too high.

That’s a pretty normal jump, especially starting where you are

1 Like

Its quite normal that when most people start structured training they get large % gains in power. Personally I think you need to do the ramp test a few times before you learn how to push yourself on the trainer as opposed to going all out on a climb. Keep it up and good luck.

1 Like

Seems very normal for people who are new to structured training, and I bet you’re going to have an even higher bump after your build cycle!

Actually, since IM plans only test FTP once at the beginning of each block, I would say you might want to think about retesting after the first 4 weeks or think about self-adjusting your FTP up (assuming things are going well).

1 Like