Starting strength + Triathlon, is it possible?

So after years of resisting, i’ve decided to start doing “proper” resistance training.
I’ve done bodyweight/calisthenics way back in the day, i’ve played with kettlebell a lot (best i’ve gotten was a 50lbs TGU and 70lbs swings) and i’ve been doing triathlon training for the past 4-5 years, minus covid. I’ve just joined a gym last month and am starting to get accustomed to all the different lifts by going 4x per week
So 3 seasons of triathlon training, with my biggest event having been a half-iron this year.
Now i know i can be better by losing weight and by being stronger overall, they’re low hanging fruit

So now my problem is i think i have conflicting goals:

• i want to do a novice strength program to get my strength up
  • i want to lose weight to be a better triathlete (i do have a bit of extra dad bod fat)

I know that as you get heavier in the lifts, gaining weight helps you lift more, especially as a newb, but then if i want to run faster, losing weight can help me lighten up the load on the joints to sustain higher volumes of running at faster paces.

I’d like to be closer to the sprinter numbers on that calculator and am already close to the all-rounder numbers with just one month of “getting used to it”
I’ve started reading starting strength and am inclined to believe it could work for me, i’d even consider stronglifts 5x5… how would you approach it if you were in my shoes?

1 Like

Definitely possible to drink a gallon of milk during T2 from the Squat to the Bike. Alan Thrall has some videos about this.

8 Likes

I’ve tried it a few ways on these forums so maybe you can gain from my mistakes with a few searches. If I was going to have my time again:

Back off SBR as you start loading up, lose all intensity but don’t stop all together. Once you get to ‘heavy’, keep one short session of SBR each per week.

Don’t do 3x heavy lifting on a TR plan.

SBR on the same day as heavy lifting just isn’t sustainable.