Starting a HS Cycling Club/Team?

In light of today’s thread on the “death” of road racing, a few replies got me thinking about how I can help start a cycling club for youth (potentially affiliated with the school system). All of the minor pre-requisites aside (I’m a USAC certified cycling coach, have background checks and child safety clearances, safesport, all that jazz), has anyone here started such a club/team and how did you go about doing it? What were the obstacles?

1 Like

We have a local group (as part of a larger push in my state) working on getting the NICA MTB program going in most of the major cities. https://www.nationalmtb.org/

The site has lots of resources to review.

1 Like

Following this. My local high school—which my children will attend someday—doesn’t currently have a sanctioned MTB team, despite numerous surrounding schools having them. I’m also interested in learning how one would go about starting a high school level cycling team.

Post where you are located as this can help us help you. Indiana is building their organization right now (season 2 starts in the fall).

Pennsylvania Interscholastic Cycling League

I’d start there, taking a guess that you’re in PA.

We have mountain biking here in my area and I’m impressed with everything they’re doing and I wish I’d been able to have that type of coaching when I was a kid. I cross paths with them training periodically and work with one of the parents who helps out a lot and it is a great program.

Kudos for the thought/inspiration. However, starting a cycling club/team can be an enormous undertaking. Note: I have been on the board of directors of our cycling/racing club and continue to be involved in club operations. While being a USAC coach is admirable and useful from many standpoints, setting up and operating a club can be huge additional legal, financial and administrative undertaking.