SRAM Eagle and DUB Compatability for MTB Newb

Hi there -

i am a newb in the MTB space, Have done a good deal of research and bought a Grand Canyon 7.

link here:

the crank is a * Truvativ Stylo 6K DUB 30T ’

i am looking to swap this out for a SRAM eagle crank with more teeth

i am assuming any of these DUB cranks will work ?

if any could help me here to confirm / deny / clarify i would be hugely grateful

i want to get on a SRAM crank so i have the option of the Power2Max power meter later on

a thousand thank you’s

1 Like

I believe DUB is DUB, and any DUB crank can replace another. My 2019 Procaliber came with Truvativ Stylo DUB crank which I swapped for SRAM Quarq XX1 Eagle DUB with no issues. That same XX1 crank just replaced the SRAM GX Eagle on my new Supercaliber.

Edit: how many times can I write ‘DUB’? :roll_eyes::rofl:

3 Likes

If you just want more teeth you can get a new chainring. Truvativ crankset uses the same chainring bolt direct mounting pattern (3-bolt) as SRAM Eagle. Which also means you can get a Power2Max PM for the Truvativ crank, it’s the same as the one you would buy for a SRAM eagle crankset.

Note: some XX1 Eagle cranksets use 8-bolt chainring mount, meaning the only compatible PM is Quarq. But yours is 3-bolt, so it’s compatible with Eagle chainrings and P2Max pms.

4 Likes

oh great to hear thanks!

1 Like

this is wonderfully helpful thanks

i was concerned about whether i’d be able to go up to a 36 clearance wise - ?

You’ll need to ask canyon about that. I’m sure it clears 34 but 36 can be iffy.

Yeah, what chainring you can use is a frame issue, not crank.

“Dub” is the bottom bracket standard. Realistically you can just change out the BB and run a non Dub crank too if you wanted. I am running a Raceface on one of my bikes so I am running a 30mm BB, but I could replace it with a Dub BB and run a Sram crank. Or replace it with a 24mm and run Shimano (which my other MTB uses).

1 Like

fantastic.

thanks for your help.