Sprint up to speed in a short TT?

I know very well the pacing strategy for a TT, but I have a 5 mile and 7.8 mile TT as the first leg of two stage races this year and I’m not experienced enough to know how to leave the start gate. I have my power output planned for the segment, but do I GAAASSSSSS IT out of the block to get up to speed as quickly as possible? No ramp, but usually an official will hold the bike so you can start clipped in. Should I stay under my planned power? 200% for 5 seconds? 300% till up to speed? All out for 10 seconds?

Its soft short rollers point A to point B for the 5 miler, and the 7.8 has a U turn. (Same question would apply to post-turn acceleration.)

Thanks!

I don’t have an answer for you, but 5 and 7.8 miles seem short enough that you could probably experiment and see right? When are they? Do you have a five mile stretch somewhere you could try it a few different ways?

I would think, especially given how short they are, you’d want to really gas it out of the gate. People will probably be doing that 5 miler under 10 minutes, so settling into a pace like you would in a 40k seems like it’d be too time consuming.

Yes gas it to get up to your desired speed. No reason to go full send and exceed your target speed. You will get to speed quickly and then settle in. It will be basically anaerobic and won’t impact your performance in such a short event.

How are you at over/under efforts? For example your fallibility to put out at fairly high output over your threshold and then settling into you race pace?

I think you want to get up to your target speed (the speed your legs can sustain for the duration) fairly quickly and get Aero. Whilst only short races you can still save precious seconds by staying aero,

Also, take into consideration how much effort you want to put into both these races as you don’t want to bake yourself for subsequent stages in the race if you have team role to play.