Sprint intervals - how to

HI,

Im pretty new at sprinting. Right now im doing a workout where I do 10 - 15 -20 sec sprints with 2 min rest in between.

Im finding it hard to get any big power out of my shorter 10 sec sprints because my cadance is so low when I start them. That is the case with the 15 and 20 sec sprints to.

So when looking at the avarage power it is lower in the 10 sec sprint and equal in the 15 and 20 sec sprint. in the 10 sec I peak out at the end and the same for the 15 and 20 with the exception that on the 20 sec power drops a bit at the end.

Ive been watching the sprint video but there is no mention of gear selection. Should I ramp up some speed beforehand so that I dont have to grind my way up to an higher cadance?

Simply, how should I think in terms of gearing, initial speed and cadance when doing short, full out sprints like this?

First off, starting at a low cadence and building and starting at a high cadence and spinning are two different types of sprint workouts. Both are helpful training but neither is really going to necessarily generate max power numbers.

To generate a max power number for shorter sprints, you want to start at a decent speed and in a gear/cadence that will let you not spin out or having to shift during the interval. You’re going all out the whole time but for me at least, mentally the effort feels like 2 separate parts - one part hammering the first half to accelerate and then one part holding power for the 2nd half.

Are you doing these on a trainer or outside?

On a trainer in erg mode on sprints that short, you kind of have to game the system to get things to work so its less than ideal. In resistance mode you still don’t get the full dynamics and body movement of a real sprint. Personally I believe the workout you are describing is better done outside.

1 Like

Thanks. I’m doing them outside until winter comes anyways :relaxed: