Should we mimic workouts when racing?

Hello guys,

I’m new to TR and I was wondering if we should try to mimic our TR workouts when racing…?

For example, I did the Antelope +4 workout this morning with 6x10 min SS and 5 min to recover in between intervals.

In an MTB race, should I try to do something like that? i. e. On a long climb, should I do 10 min of SS followed by a 5 min easy spin, then do another 10 min of SS, another 5 min easy, and so on…?

Overly simple response, but that sounds exactly backwards to me.

• The statement usually follows the “Train like you plan to race.” ideology.

This understandably varies from phase to phase, but you should be following a plan that applies at least some level of workouts that align with your expectations of how you need to perform in a race.

Each person, event and discipline will have variation, but you can see key aspects that apply in the TR plans to the intended use in the event. You can adjust plans with different workouts as needed to better prepare for the efforts you think you will need.

We need to take our training and then use it in the event. As such we can apply power and efforts within the range of power and duration we did during our training.

It’s about growing our strength, but also learning what we can do with that strength.

2 Likes

Simply put no if it’s a RR because your “plan” may not follow what others want to do. Like Chad said above. Use your strength from training to race.

If it’s a TT then maybe…you can dial into sustained efforts, holding certain power on flats, rollers, etc. My TR plan for Oceanias 40k TT, is building the strength necessary to execute my race plan for the day.

2 Likes