Should I use TrainerRoad if I'm not racing?

I have been using Zwift for the past 2 years and have made good progress on my cycling fitness. I currently do one endurance ride a year but am trying to decide if I want to do multiple per year. Each of these would be considered Gran Fondo with 100+ miles and over 8,000 Ft of climb. The biggest thing to note here is that these are RIDES and not RACES. I’m not looking to get into racing. With that said, do you think TrainerRoad is “overkill” for those of us just looking to not suffer as much on long endurance rides or is TrainerRoad really meant for those looking to race?
I may be overthinking this but I like the social aspect of Zwift but feel the TrainerRoad plans are more suited to getting better/faster and I don’t want to pay for both!
Any help with this decision is greatly appreciated for this middle aged dad of two young kids and a full time job just looking to stay in shape!

1 Like

Anyone that’s using it for racing is using it to “not suffer as much” in racing.

Any of those gains for racing will help in your endurance rides. It’s only “overkill” if you make it that way.

I imagine a large portion of TR users aren’t racers. I’d also imagine an even larger portion of those users “race” but only for PBs or fun… Not to be at the pointy end.

TR has a money-back first month. No harm in trying it.

4 Likes
3 Likes

I’ve been using TR for almost five years, and really not for racing, but for keeping fit and at one time being able to keep up with my friends on group rides. Actually, I started because of injury. A broken collarbone, and buying a smart trainer to get back into riding and not losing fitness during the recovery period.

After that, I included it into my riding, and in the past year, have used it to train for eRacing.