Should I Buy a New Saddle if I'm Comfortable with my Current One?

I have a Fizik Antares on my current bike and have had no issues with it. I’ve had it for about 5 months and recently did a 120mi / 8.5 K climbing gran fondo on it. Historically, I don’t get saddle sores, even if the bike fit isn’t perfect. I’ve been training for a couple of years without a professional bike fit with another bike and lower end (< $100) saddle with no complaints. Rare issues (I think I may have had them before, but I cannot remember) with numbness or pressure on groin areas.

I’m not sure if it’s just been luck as I know saddle “fit” is very personal.

Researching Fizik saddles, my riding profile is that of a snake (a more flexible rider who can easily bend over and touch his toes), and Fizik’s website suggests the Arione series for me. In case it matters, I’m a smaller rider, around 140 pounds / 5’6 (64 KG / 167 CM).

Is there a significant reason for me to get an Arione? I do prefer to ride in the drops, a lower position, and some comments about the Arione suggest I can move myself all over the saddle a lot easier. I’m not sure if I care about that. Ultimately, if I don’t need more comfort, but I can drive more power (especially in sustained climbs) out of a different saddle, I’m all for it, but I don’t know how the saddle impacts that.

If you can find a saddle that doesn’t give you problems there is no need to change in my view.

7 Likes

It sounds like you are looking for a solution to a problem that doesn’t exist. If you are happy with your current saddle then stick with it. I personally run the same saddle on all my bikes (road, gravel, mtb) and they all vary in price from the cheapest model to the most expensive model (only difference is weight). I once heard a pro cyclist say he found a saddle that “hurt the least” and stuck with it. Get a professional bike fit and see where your pressure points are on the current saddle and go from there.

2 Likes