Short overreaching period

I’m currently training for a road racing season and aiming to peak at June. I’ve done base training for about 15 weeks and then higher intensity stuff for about five weeks, mainly vo2 stuff and couple of threshold sessions. I have a couple of weeks of vacation coming up and I’m thinking about doing a short overreaching period / training camp.

How should I approach this since I have never done anything like this before? I was thinking of doing 4 + 4 days of hard training with one or two days of recovery between. So something like this:

1. higher intensity threshold session or vo2
  2. long threshold
  3. sweet spot or tempo
  4. endurance
    Rest day and repeat

I would take 4 days of recovery before and a week of easy training after. Ideas?

Does “training camp” mean you will train more / longer? If you want to put in significant hours I would reduce intensity. Long endurance rides and maybe mix in some sweet spot intervals. Depending on the time you would like to invest maybe take a look at the long sweet spot base plan for inspiration. If it was me (currently on medium plan) I would aim to ride 4-6 H endurance outside in a 4/1 Rhythm. But I also have never done something like that because I have a wife and two small kids :slight_smile:

No, the “training camp” wouldn’t necessarily mean more training hours but rather more training stress with no other life stressors hindering.

I’ve done ssb 1 and 2 (high volume) and my training volume has hovered around 15 hours per week. My initial plan was to just log big hours but the weather looks pretty horrendeus at the moment so that’s why I’m considering doing more intesity.

I could do just sweetspot and z2 but I wonder if adding threshold sessions would give me additional benefits to that.