S&S BTC vs Ritchey Breakaway and other thoughts

Im a long-haul pilot - got into cycling 9months ago. The frustrations of rental bike availability has convinced me to take my bike with me. I have a fullsize hard case which is great but theres a high risk of it not joining me on trips when i say adieu to it on the outsize baggage belt.

A number of colleagues have the Ritchey Breakaway which seems to work well,
particularly when fitted with SRAM wireless etap. However, id like something a bit more special. Im talking to a UK firm that will fit the S&S BTC to a titanium frame.

Ive not ridden a Ti frame, any pros and cons that i need to consider? experiences with BTC? I want disc brakes but the need to split the cable when packing away prevents full hydro so im considering the TRP cable actuated hydro disc.

Id like to trim the weight a little perhaps replacing the stock Al bars and forged stem with Ritchey carbon- will this compromise comfort?

any thoughts and suggestions most welcome

I’m on my 2nd S&S bike and my wife has one too. Here’s what I can think of off the top of my head.

In no particular order:

1. Your bike will get scratched up. Ti is by far the best in this respect.

2. I had TRP HY/RD brakes on the old bike. They are OK and that is what my wife’s bike has. I have Campy disc now and they are way better. But routing is a PITA on full hydros. The best way I have found to deal with them is to disconnect the brakes from the bike.

3. Using cable splitters is EASY and FAST and I have never needed to readjust solely because I split the cables. So don’t worry about that.

4. Ritchey Break away cases are technically over-sized but tons of people use them without a problem. The Co-motion cases are pretty good and look like normal luggage.

5. If you are getting this as a gravel bike and using large tires I highly recommend going 650b. They will pack much better.