Santa Cruz Blur TR or Specialized Epic Evo

Hi there,

i will be pulling the trigger on one of these bikes in the next month i hope. both in the cheapest build

Having a hard time deciding.

I have checked all the geo / specs / BUT only test-ridden the SC Blur TR at present in M whereas the Specialized will be in L.

i’d love to race XC or XCM but my work doens’t allow for much time off - so the use will mostly be fast times on local loops and segments.

Dirt and occasionally rocky Los Angeles is my terrain

I am a relative newbie so my primary concern is confidence in handling and descending.

I know it’s all personal but if anyone had any input who has ridden these models it would be hugely appreciated!

thanks!

I ride a Blur TR, but in the previous (VPP) itteration. I LOVE it!
It may be a body proportion issue, but I find that I can ride a L spec, but in SC I need an XL, so I’d make sure to do your best to at least do a test ride on an epic in a L and M.

Admittedly, I’m not a fan of the big red “S”. Warranty and aftermarket support may not be an issue for you, depending on how long you keep your bikes, but SC’s warranty and the free pivot bearings for life keep me coming back.

You can’t really go wrong either way as long as the bike fits you.

great thoughts!

i did ride a L in the SC blur TR and enjoyed - i rode a M and honestly could gave gone either way - but tempted by the geo on the smaller M size and the slight weight benefit that might come with although i could be mistaken there?

do you find the bike climbs well technically - as i find that very hard on my current (v heavy) hardtail!

the after market detail about SC is really valued thank you - any other thoughts are most welcome no detail too small !

@sandilandscycles did you get a chance to ride an XC or just the TR?

They are both great bikes and very close on the geometry chart. The warranty was a major factor in buying a Blur over anything else.