Roval CLX 64 vs. Enve 5.6

On the latest podcast the guys talked about their rigs… I was curious that they all ride specialized frames, but opted for Enve wheels instead of the standard Rovals. Anybody have experience with both that has an opinion on:

(-) Aerodynamics
(-) Weight/acceleration… meaning do they spin up… not just the weight in grams
(-) Stiffness
(-) Build
(-) Hubs
(-) Overall ride quality

Or, any other feedback – Rovals are a bit less expensive, but both in the same ballpark (expensive!).

For reference, I am interested in the disc versions.

I really don’t know why they would spec Enve over Roval.

I love my Rovals. I have a pair of CLX 50’s that came on my tarmac, and CL 50s I got before because my precious road bike came with trash wheels.

I think both sets are awesome. Super fast, and light weight. I think they’re on the same sexy factor as Enve.

I have no experience with either, but THE BEST AERO BIKE WHEELS - In The Know Cycling has an in depth comparison covering these wheels plus XXX 6 , 404s, and a few other wheels in the category.

I found their review of the CLX64s completely contradictory to my own experience of them, strangely. I’ve never had issues with their stiffness or stability, but I was not a fan of the ceramic speed bearings.

1 Like

Likewise. I completely disagree with their review. And having a look at some of the other reviews on there, not really a site I’d trust for reviews I’m afraid.

1 Like