Rollers Buzz Saw Sound

Roller folks, I need your help. I’m new to rollers and got myself some Elite Arion Mag rollers to switch things up a bit on endurance/recovery rides. So far I have done 2 workouts and each time there have been a few moments where I get a little wobbly and there is a buzz saw sound, imagine an electric saw cutting through wood.

My theory is that it comes from the back wheel as that is what seems to move the most. It might be my back rim hitting the plastic roller?

Has this ever happened to anyone else?

Sounds like hitting the edge of Elite rollers to me. If you’re new, it’ll improve…if not, stop riding so near the edge! If you’re using a front wheel brace, it might let you hang out there but from my experience of using just rollers if you hear that noise you’re either correcting or stopping fairly soon!

1 Like

A video with sound would be priceless here. Outside of that, it sounds like:

1. You are getting wide to the edge of the rollers and getting more noise from a tire riding on the raised-rounded section of the rollers. This would engage more tire surface and likely lead to more noise.

2. You are leaning the bike more in those instances and potentially hitting a “noisy” section of your tire profile more from that lean vs a more upright angle. This depends on your tire profile and inflation level.

Took a video this afternoon and captured the sound. Any recomendations on how to best upload it ?

Post to YouTube, then share a link to it here.

Thanks Chad! Was easier than I thought to get it uploaded.

There is a noticeable vibration of the belt when the noise hits. Not sure if it is source or a symptom though?