Riding to keep sane

is it just me or in these strange times I find just pottering around the lanes in the sunshine is more appealing then intervals and structure.

no stressing over numbers and targets. just ramping up tss with no mental strain.

6 Likes

Not just you. Sometimes we need to remember our reasons for being here. I have gone too far down the “training” rabbit hole at times, and dig out to rediscover the “soul of cycling” by forgetting that junk for a bit and simply ride for fun!!! Crazy, right? :stuck_out_tongue:

9 Likes

I’m doing mostly zone 2 for 3 - 4 hours with 1xshort VO2 session and the odd training tt on Strava to keep things interesting - maybe actually a big base will make me a better rider in the end because normally this time of year I’m thrashing it up and down the road in a skinsuit! - this is fun especially as UK weather has been great - having to dust my tt bike though which I have never done before :rofl:

2 Likes

Wait…you mean riding bikes is supposed to be fun??? :exploding_head::thinking::star_struck:

3 Likes

One of my lockdown goals is to ditch all the tech – even gears! – and take the single speed out once a week in the sun for a fun rip around. Curb hopping, skids, going as slow or fast as I want, high-speed cadence downhills, stopping to take a pic… :exploding_head: :laughing: Makes going back to the trainer dungeon a bit of a drag but also gives me something to look forward to.

4 Likes

Yup, I am planning to break out my old trials bike to add some hopping and play riding in. It sat and collected dust for 3 years due to my “serious” cycling push these last few years. That and riding the MTB with NO DEVICES and a “focus” on play riding with a technical skew are something I really enjoy, but didn’t do enough of recently.

No better time than now to reset and maybe rediscover why we all ended up here in the first place :smiley:

3 Likes