Recovery week before tapering - go or no go?

Hi all,

Long-time lurker, first-time poster. Happy TR subscriber for 2 years now. I’ve been training for >6 months for my A-goal this year: the Marmotte Gran Fondo (175km, 5000m+ climbing). I’ve gone through a full base and build cycle through Plan builder. The last 3 weeks it had me do the first 3 weeks of the Gran Fondo Speciality plan. I’m on a low-volume plan that I supplemenent with a lot of endurance riding to get to ~12 hrs per week.

For the final 3 weeks Plan Builder had cooked up the following:

• 1 recovery week (endurance only)
  • 1 training week (similar in TSS to my last 3 weeks - close to an all-time high for me)
  • 1 taper week (an easy threshold session, recovery rides and openers)

I’m wondering if this is truly the best approach for me going forward as I 1. don’t feel very fatigued at the moment, 2. am worried about the big week 1 week before the event.

I’m contemplating changing my next 3 weeks into a bit of a progressive taper:

• 1 training week where I lower the volume slightly
  • 1 taper week where I reduce the volume a bit more and take a few recovery days if I feel fatigued
  • 1 true taper week, same as above.

Would love to hear your experiences with this. I understand this is very much a balancing act between doing too much and doing too little, but I can’t shake the feeling that the current plan feels a bit weird.

Trust the algorithm.

This is one thing I don’t think the algorithm handles well. Like scheduling time off the week after a recovery week - there’s no need for that recovery week.