Rebuilding plan - From gran fondo to Zwift racing

Hello everyone!

All of the gran fondos that I meant to do this summer have been canceled and I’m just about to enter build phase next week for the first time. I was thinking about changing my current plan to better suit Zwift racing… which is probably the only kind of racing that I’ll be doing this year :sob:

Should I leave it as is until next year or should I work on something else that better suits the new racing style? Would it be better to work on my weakness while I can?

Please let me know if similar posts exist, I didn’t find any.

Cheers from Italy.

I’m sort of in a similar boat (we all are, I suppose) but with road racing. I’m new to Zwift racing this week and I can certainly see the appeal! I will remain a TrainerRoad user as I believe in their training plans, workouts and progression, but am enjoying the “distraction” Zwift provides when trying to get in 90+ minute sessions day in, day out on the trainer.

I was just getting into a mid volume specialty phase when all this started to go down and switched to high volume sweet spot I. I’ve switched in a couple sessions here and there with a Zwift race. Most of the races are pretty short so I’m either doing some sweet spot work before or after (or both) the race. Those short races offer lots of super high end work, so I’m sort of getting a fairly balanced training plan than just the sub-threshold bias that the sweet spot plans offer (especially the high volume ones).

One thing that is different this go around of sweet spot training for me is that it isn’t coming after an offseason break where my FTP dropped, so I’m doing all these sessions at higher power. Hopefully it translates into results this Fall (and on Zwift right now!).

Good luck!

3 Likes