Quarq DZero AXS zero offset

Hi all

Experiencing a strange issue with my PM and wondering if anyone else has seen the same.

I zero offset my PM before every ride. The value given is always between 95 and 105.

I changed my chainring the other day and now my zero offset number is anywhere between 24 and -4. I tried this about 6 times. I then went for a ride and the power numbers didnt seem like a million miles away, but im not that good at riding by feel so it could be misreading as a result of such a different zero offset value.

Any thoughts? Could changing the chainring or torquing the chainset have any affect here?

It’s definitely important to torque down all the bolts properly. A secure (and clean) fit is very important. I believe it’s expected that the offset will change if you change out the chainring, or really anything with the pedals/cranks, because that affects the weight distribution and needs to be reflected in the sensor. With a range of -4-24, that suggests to me there’s still quite a bit of play (could also be the bike wasn’t stable).

Thanks. I used a torque wrench and recommended torque for refitting the chainset. Pretty sure I did that when I fitted it last time. Note that the bolts that attach the PM to the crank arm havent been touched.

Where would you suggest the play is? Theres no play in the BB, as there shouldnt, given that I tightened it to recommended torque. The bike was stable whilst zeroing and was done in the exact same manner as Ive always done it.

The biggest difference between now and then is the size of the chainring, and i can understand this affecting the offset, but it seems like a big change.

Did you take the cranks out of the bottom bracket, or just install the chainring directly onto the bike? Even just pulling the cranks out of the frame and reinstalling can cause offset to change. Also, I’m guessing a new chain, so the weight/tension there is different as well… I don’t usually recalibrate for chains-only changes.