Poor Build Phases: Rarely can complete more than one TR workout in a week

Background: I have been training with a power meter since 2012-13. I am self-coached. I am 47 years old. My FTP is about 250. My diet is 8/10. I weight 149 lbs. I sleep well; rating it 8/10. I have average stress, in general compared to others.
Two questions: (1) my FTP appears to drop each year, but race results get better? Maybe the competition is weaker but it doesn’t seem that way. How is this possible to get better with lower FTP numbers over time? Same bike and power meter for last three years. (2) Build periods are awful; they generally end prematurely with 2-3 weeks of recovery rides needed. Other symptoms: High HR => poor EF ratio and pwr:HR. And, most importantly: the inability to finish even one hard workout per week; especially as I get older. Sometimes just one hard workout per 10 days; sometimes I can complete 2 in a week but it’s rare. I’ve tried more volume, less volume … same results for the most part. I cannot imagine this is how build is supposed to work; again, this is not just one year but multiple years worth of observation. What can I do to make my build phase more effective? Or is this just the way the build period is supposed to work?

Could your power meter be giving inaccurate readings? I would verify against another source if available.

1 Like