Planning Fitness for Next Season (outdoors)

Hi All

Long one!

I have a few questions here that has been scratching my head. This has likely been spoken about before but there is a few things I feel is unique to my situation.

To Note
I just finished my first race season (XC MTB)
I am a beginner at MTB - started January 2022
I race XCO club leagues twice a week on natural trails (technically challenging) - I cycle to these events so generally it is 1 hour there > 40 min race > 1 hour back. So volume is key.
Race season is May to August
I have a PM and train exclusively outdoors year round. My training is largely based on daylight and weather.
There is 1 local league in August that I am unable to do as it is too technically challenging - More enduro than XC. But I would love to do this for next year.

Training Plan

1. Planned Off-Season starting November 1st with 2 weeks off then followed by a mixture of gym, run, 1x SS workout on Thursdays and 4+ Hour Road + XC riding on the weekends.
  2. Planned Base Season Starting December (Low Volume TR with weekend ride Z2 added) 3x Rides. Tuesday Intensity, Thursday SS and Sunday SS + XC Riding (4-5 Hours). And gym twice a weeks - 20 min sessions.
  3. Planned Build and Specialty (Low Volume TR with weekend Z2 ride adding to the workout) Gym once per week.

Question
I have 2 months left till my off season and after a few months of racing and no structured training I feel pretty fresh - I am considering what to do during this time.

Either I continue training as per TR or just unstructured MTB. I am leaning towards unstructured MTB as this will generally allow me to do.

1. More volume
  2. More fun (consistent)
  3. Prepare my mind, body and soul for when I do start training with intensity again in the new year.