Plan builder mid volume crit plan may be trying to kill me 😂

I’m a 61 year old who came back to racing last year . Ive been using TR for a few years and improved ftp using rolling road race last year . In October i took off two weeks and after that embarked on a plan of weight workouts and mid volume crit .As I suspected when i got to build phase the weights were too much and gave them up. I was struggling to finish Tuesday and Thursday workouts . Now i am in the final weeks of build and the Tuesday Thursday rides are nearly impossible to finish . Up until this plan A.I. always seem to give me perfect workouts . Very hard but productive workouts I could finish . Am I missing something here when I get a Tuesday vo2 max 5.2 and i barely finish and have to drop ten percent for last set , then Thursday I get a 5.7 that i knew before I started would be more than a stretch ? If i cant do a 5.2 how can I do. 5.7 ? Is it trying to find my limits ?

1 Like

I’m not the best at digging into the inner workings of this sort of thing, but I know our Support team could give you good insight into what’s going on. I’m going to have them reach out to you.

That said, if you feel the workout is too intense, I recommend using Workout Alternates. It’s super easy to pick a similar workout that is of a lower intensity.

This article explains how to use the feature.

To briefly explain it here:

1. Tap on the scheduled workout you want to change, then tap “Alternates”.
  2. Tap the Difficulty dropdown and select “Achievable”.
  3. Select the workout you’d like to do and tap “Replace”

That’s it!

3 Likes