Pedal smoothness and mechanics

I have been using TR for a couple of years now and been following coach chads pedalling exercices, but I feel I am not improving my pedalling smoothness.

As an example, I just did a 2x20 min and was hoping to be at an average wattage of 250W, unfortunately my power was all over the place and trying to over-correct kept driving me nut! The average on the first segment came down to 246W. Workout intensity was set initially to 103% so I would hit 250W but increased it to 105% (255W) just so I can average higher, yet I still manage to miss the mark.

I am on erg but use the power from my power meter (Quarq DZero). I have exactly the same issue everywhere (indoor / outdoor). I do understand some fluctuations are expected due to how pedalling works but what I am seeing just makes me wonder if my riding is ineffficient and wasteful.

See my ride here

I have had a look at a couple of other 2x20 on Gray or other workouts from other TR users who track very well (actual non-trainer power meter readings), and averaging spot on a very close what the interval power specifies. I am not sure how to improve. Is it a cadence issue?

What is going with your pedaling after start of the interval? Because the beginning of the first interval looks quite ok.

Do you use restitance or this is done in erg mode?

• Already stated in the OP.
  • So he is on ERG with PowerMatch.
2 Likes

Sorry my mistake. I have just returned from business trip and my mind is quite hazy.

2 Likes

And for the pedal stroke it becomes a lot worse with your fatigue (looking at the workout). It is like you push pedals very hard vertically to mee the power targets and not pulling the pedal to smooth the stroke? (So little bit to literally like a two pistons)