Pedal foot placement power/efficiency

I’m fairly new to cycling and so far I have only used flat pedals and regular shoes. Now, I would like to try clipless, but I would appreciate some advice before making the investment in new pedals and shoes.

I have seen that most cycling shoes have the slots under the ball of the foot area, with no way to mount their cleats farther back. My pedalling position on flats is naturally close to the middle of my foot. I have tried placing it closer to the front just for a little bit, (ie. right behind the ball of the foot). But I find that the closer to the front, the more tired my calves get becase I have to continuously keep them engaged so my heel doesn’t drop in the downstroke. At the same time, I’m not sure if this is a good thing because it means my calf muscles will also contribute to the stroke, providing more power.

Now my question is not necessarily wether I can get shoes that seat the cleats further back (I know there might be some out there), but about foot placement being something you can get used to and any personal experiences with switching foot position and power/endurance changes.

I don’t think you want to place the cleats in the middle of your foot. This might work for flat pedals but not so much for clipless. If you have heel drop issues, then some of the TR sessions will give you good training advise such as increase RPM and loosen tension on your lower legs and feet. Don’t mash, but spin.

Normally speaking the cleat should be placed half way between the head of the big and small toe metatarsal bones. Check out Cam Nichols on YouTube, he has a few bike fitting videos and they discuss the Steve Hogg way to fit shoes, clips & bike.

You may want to try SpeedPlay clipless as there is a wide range of adjustments. And if you do road cycling, and depending on your budget, a shoe with stiff sole will be very helpful.

2 Likes

This and only this.

See you in about 6 months!
(there’s a TON of info)

3 Likes
2 Likes