Overtraining- how long to recover, what to do in the mean time?

Background: I’m 45, lifelong cyclist but never really trained properly or all that much, last year did very little, and started this year very unfit and about 50 lb. overweight. I’ve never done TR style sweet spot training before and rarely trained five days a week.

I jumped into SSB1 mid volume. Had no trouble finished any of the workouts but by the fifth week could tell I wasn’t recovering well. The week after that I basically fell apart.

I realize strength training overtraining will be a little different to endurance training but from this list of symptoms I have probably 90%.

I’ve been completely off the bike for two weeks now and still feel like trash. The hand tremors are especially scary since my father had Parkinson’s … I did go to my doctor and he found nothing wrong with me so I think it has to be overtraining, can’t see what else, since I felt fine at the beginning of the year.

Heart rate when waking in the morning is quite high (80 to 90, resting is 55) and HRV shows “high stress” according to my Garmin watch. Most days HRV is high to medium stress for most of the day but that’s been improving although slowly and inconsistently.

I have lost about 20 lb since New Years, which was part of the plan but I wonder if I ended up underfueled much of the time.

I know it can sometimes take months to fully recover but surely that’s in cases where someone has been overdoing it for years at a time?

Should I be glued to the couch as I am now or would it be better to start doing easy rides (Seiler-style Zone 1)?

It sounds to me like your simply not eating enough. That can also cause trembling of the hands like bonking.

I’m 44 and have cycled for decades too (and the fact that I’m old enough to say decades hurts)

That sounds like over training but one thing I have found since doing TR at our age is that recovery is just as big as training for me.