Am I overtrained?

About 2 weeks ago, 3 things started happening: (1) hard efforts during a ride brought me to my knees - what would usually take 15 seconds of easy pedaling to catch my breath turned into 60 seconds of no pedaling; (2) my normalized power over long rides dropped by 10%; and (3) my heart rate moved up a zone - my heart rate at sweet spot now is what it used to be at threshold, etc. I’ve tried short periods of rest (I was off the bike 3 consecutive days this week) but they have not helped much. The whole deal is aggravated by the fact that I’m on my feet all day when working, so a day off the bike doesn’t always help the legs that much. Complicating factors over the past few months: 9.5 hour mtb race with no rest period after, gave blood, started taking an ACE inhibitor for blood pressure. Would appreciate any advice. Thanks!!

1 Like

I can’t comment on the ACE inhibitor since I’m not a doctor, but the race and giving blood could certainly cause what you are seeing. Especially the blood donation. How long ago did that happen? Blood volume is one of the bigger factors in fitness, so taking out 10-15% of your blood volume could definitely be it.

I looked at your profile but it doesn’t seem to have any outdoor rides so it’s hard to really comment on the training load part of the equation.

I would shoot your doctor a message about the effects of the ACE inhibitor to see if that could be a contributor. Then, depending on your upcoming goals, I would take some good time away from hard efforts to see how that helps.

1 Like

Great advice - thank you!!

How deep did you go in your 9.5 hour race? After my 8.5 hour MTB 100 race I took a complete week off the bike, then inserted an even easier than normal recovery week of riding. Following that I had a ramp test (FTP -3%).