Over-Unders vs Sweet Spot in TT position

Hey guys,

I’m a triathlete and I’ve been using TrainerRoad for a couple of years now and seen some steady gains in my cycling in that time. This year I’m having a crack at my first Ironman having done three 70.3s in the past 18 months. Alongside training for a marathon in April, I’ve done most of the sessions in SSB1 & 2 low volume, supplemented with a weekly endurance ride (usually Pettit) and longer outdoor rides when weather allows - if we have ropey weather, I’ll usually go with the prescribed TR session.

Anyway, I’ve just started Long Distance Tri Build low volume, with the plan to add in a weekly Pettit. A lot of the plan’s Thursday sessions are Over-Under intervals and I like to do this session on my Tri bike to get used to the TT position (I use my roadie for the Tuesday VO2 stuff).

I’m interested to know if other users think this is the right thing to do or would I be better off going for lower intensity, sweet spot session on the TT bike instead? I did the first of the over-under sessions this morning and it was bar far the toughest session I’ve done so far, so I’m a little concerned about how I’ll deal with bigger or tougher sessions further down the road. I know I could lower the intensity on the sessions or take an FTP test in TT position, but I’m reluctant to muddle my FTP given that I don’t want to be all about the TT bike. In terms of lowering intensity, I’m sure I’ve read somewhere that it’s possible to minimise power losses in TT position over time - does it make sense to keep the intensity at 100% in an effort to acclimitise?

Apologies for the long post! Thanks in advance. Andy :slight_smile: