One indoor bike, two very different sized people

Hi all,

Long time lurker here. Apologies if similar has been asked before, but I’ve had a search and couldn’t find anything.

I’ve been using my spare (alu frame) bike on a tacx neo for a couple of years. I like not having to swap my bike on and off the trainer as any impediment to doing the session seems to result in not getting done about 50% of the time. Now my partner wants to be able to do some indoor cycling and unfortunately living in England we’re rather space limited. (No garage, bike is in the spare bedroom etc.)

I want to try and modify my current set up so that both me (6ft) and my partner (5ft 4) are able to use it. Saddle height isn’t so much as an issue as fore/aft of saddle and handlebar reach/height. Is anyone aware of any parts that would allow quick adjustment of these factors that could be used on a conventional bike?

I guess the other option would be to sell the Neo, and get a ‘spin’ type bike, but I can’t see being able to get anything of equivalent quality for the money I’d get from selling the Neo. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

One option to help with saddle fore-aft could be this seatpost.

It shifts the saddle forward 50mm in an instant. You will still need to raise and lower like a rigid one, but this makes a super fast reach adjustment.

Chad’s suggest of the redshift post is a good one.

I’m not aware of anything on the front end, but playing with the spacers on the stem might find a height that both of you can live with. Especially noting that on an indoor trainer, positioning of the shifters, etc is far less crucial than outside.

Just wondering if it might be better to have her bike on it, instead of yours? Or you could get a cheap ‘in the middle’ frame just for the neo. Just thinking that it is easier to make the bike bigger (longer stem and seatpost) than smaller.

Pretty sure there are height-adjustable stems. They’ll probably need an allen key though.